تمرين التأهب في الفلبين
تمرين التأهب في الفلبين © Start Network

العمل بقيادة محلية

تتمثل رؤية Start Network في نظام معونة دولي أكثر توازناً يكون مسؤولاً أمام الأشخاص المتأثرين بالأزمات أو المعرضين لخطرها.

لا يزال تركيز القوة والنفوذ والموارد في النظام الإنساني يكمن في شمال الكرة الأرضية. لكن المنظمات المحلية مسؤولة عن الغالبية العظمى من الاستجابات الإنسانية ولها ارتباط عميق بمجتمعاتها ، مما يعني أنها تستطيع فهم الاحتياجات المحلية بشكل أفضل. 

لقد هيمنت المنظمات الدولية إلى حد كبير على نظام المساعدات الدولية التي تتجنب الاستثمار في المنظمات أو المبادرات التي ترى أنها معرضة لخطر أكبر. وهذا يعني أن العديد من المنظمات المحلية والوطنية مستبعدة من تولي أدوار قيادية أو حتى الوصول مباشرة إلى التمويل. 

يحتاج تغيير الوضع الراهن إلى تحول جذري إلى العمل بقيادة محلية ، حيث تتحمل الشبكات والمنظمات المحلية مسؤولية اتخاذ القرار.

هذا يحتاج إلى نهج جديد لكيفية عملنا ، وطريقة جديدة لتنظيم أنفسنا ، بناءً على المنظمات المحلية بدلاً من مكتب عالمي مركزي واحد. وهي بحاجة إلى طريقة جديدة في التفكير تقدر المساهمة التي يمكن أن تقدمها المنظمات المختلفة.

نهجنا في العمل بقيادة محلية

تتطور Start Network إلى "شبكة من الشبكات" المتنوعة حيث يمكن لمجموعات الأعضاء بقيادة محلية الوصول إلى مواردهم الخاصة واتخاذ القرارات بشأن كيفية استخدامها. يعتمد هيكلنا الجديد المتطور على محاور وطنية وإقليمية بقيادة محلية وذاتية الحكم مع أعضائها الوطنيين والمحليين.

نحن في بداية الرحلة ، وسيكون هناك الكثير لنتعلمه على طول الطريق. لكننا نأمل أن يقود مثالنا في نهاية المطاف إلى إصلاح أوسع نطاقاً من خلال إظهار بديل قوي وإيجابي للنظام الحالي.

أمثلة على العمل بقيادة محلية

برنامج التأهب للكوارث والطوارئ (2015-2018) قدم تمويلًا مرنًا للمنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية لتطوير استجابة إنسانية فعالة حيث تشتد الحاجة إليها. عملت عبر عشر دول وشاركت فيها ما يقرب من نصف عضوية Start Network. استخدمت العديد من الوكالات الوطنية تجربتها مع DEPP لتطوير برامج جديدة.

مختبرات الابتكار DEPP (2017-2019) على برنامج DEPP لإنشاء مختبرات ابتكار وطنية حيث يمكن للمبتكرين المحليين تطوير حلول للتحديات الإنسانية في بلدهم.

صندوق التنسيق والاستجابة السريع بقيادة تونغا (2022). في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2022 ، ضرب ثوران بركان هونغغا تونغا هونغ هاباي تحت الماء أرخبيل تونغا ، مما أثر على جميع السكان. استجاب مركز Start Network's Pacific ، بقيادة PIANGO وعضوها المحلي ، منتدى المجتمع المدني في تونغا (CSFT) ، من خلال صندوق نموذج أولي للاستجابة السريعة بقيادة محلية. 

شراكة الابتكار بقيادة المجتمع (تم إطلاقه في عام 2020) يعمل من خلال محاور تدعم المبتكرين المحليين حتى يتمكنوا من تحديد المشكلات الإنسانية التي تهم مجتمعاتهم وإيجاد حلول تستند إلى المعرفة المحلية.

يوفر مجتمع خبراء الإنذار العالمي معلومات حول المخاطر لمساعدتنا في تحديد وقت وكيفية التصرف قبل وقوع الكارثة. طيارون وطنيون (منذ عام 2020) يقدمون الآن المشورة بشأن الإجراءات الاستباقية في بلدانهم ، بناءً على المعرفة والخبرة المحلية.

بدء الصندوق يستخدم عملية صنع القرار المحلية لاختيار المشاريع بناءً على معرفة الأعضاء ببلدهم أو منطقتهم المحددة. حاليا، صناديق البداية الوطنية يعني أن المنظمات المحلية يمكنها أيضًا إدارة أموالها الخاصة.

إطار للعمل بقيادة محلية

يهدف إطار عمل Start Network للعمل بقيادة محلية إلى توفير هيكل عملي لتحسين وضع المنظمات المحلية ضمن المساعدات الدولية. يأخذ إطار العمل نظرة أعمق وأكثر أهمية للإجراءات التي تتم بقيادة محلية ، بالنظر إلى جودة (وليس فقط الكمية) التمويل والشراكات والمشاركة وتنمية القدرات وتأثير المنظمات المحلية والوطنية. عند نشر إطار العمل ، تسعى Start Network إلى تعزيز التفصيل في فهم القطاع للتوطين ، من أجل تعزيز نهج شامل لمعالجته.

تتمثل رؤية Start Network في نظام إنساني بقيادة محلية ، ونحن ندعم المحاور التي تقودها محليًا كخطوة نحو ...

Preparedness drill in the Philippines
Preparedness drill in the Philippines © Start Network

Locally led action

Start Network’s vision is for a more balanced international aid system that is accountable to people affected by or at risk of crises.

The concentration of power, influence, and resources in the humanitarian system still lie in the global North. But local organisations are responsible for the vast majority of humanitarian responses and have a deep connection to their communities, meaning they can better understand local needs. 

The international aid system has been largely dominated by international organisations that avoid investing in organisations or initiatives they perceive to be at greater risk. This means that many local and national organisations are excluded from taking leading roles or even directly accessing funding. 

Changing the status quo needs a radical shift to locally-led action, where locally-led networks and organisations have the responsibility for decision-making.

This needs a new approach to how we operate, and a new way of organising ourselves, based on local organisations rather than one centralised global office. And it needs a new way of thinking which values the contribution that different organisations can make.

Our approach to locally led action

Start Network is evolving into a diverse “network of networks” where locally led groups of members have access to their own resources and make the decisions on how these are used. Our evolving new structure is based on locally-led, self-governing national and regional hubs with their own national and local members.

We are at the beginning of the journey, and there will be a lot to learn along the way. But we hope that our example will ultimately drive wider reform by demonstrating a powerful and positive alternative to the current system.

Examples of locally led action

The Disasters & Emergencies Preparedness Programme (2015–2018) provided flexible funding for national NGOs to develop effective humanitarian response where it was needed the most. It worked across ten countries and involved nearly half of the Start Network membership. Many national agencies used their experience with DEPP to develop new programmes.

The DEPP Innovation Labs (2017–2019) built on the DEPP programme to create national innovation labs where local innovators could develop solutions to humanitarian challenges in their own country.

Tonga locally led rapid coordination and response fund (2022). In January 2022 the eruption of the Hunga Tonga Hunga Ha’apai underwater volcano struck the Tonga archipelago, with an impact on the entire population. Start Network's Pacific hub, led by PIANGO and its local member, Civil Society Forum of Tonga (CSFT), responded through a locally-led rapid response prototype fund. 

The Community-led Innovation Partnership (launched in 2020) works through hubs, that support local innovators so they can identify the humanitarian problems that matter in their communities and create solutions based on local knowledge.

The global FOREWARN community of experts provides information on risk to help us decide when and how to act before a disaster strikes. National FOREWARN pilots (since 2020) now advise on anticipatory action in their own countries, based on local knowledge and expertise.

The Start Fund uses local decision-making to select projects based on members’ knowledge of their specific country or region. Now, National Start Funds mean that local organisations can also manage their own funds.

A framework for locally led action

Start Network's framework for locally-led action aims to provide a practical structure to improve the position of local organisations within international aid. The framework takes a deeper and more critical view of locally led action, looking at the quality (not just the quantity) of funding, partnerships and participation, capacity development, and the influence of local and national organisations. In publishing the framework Start Network seeks to promote granularity in the sector’s understanding of localisation, in order to foster a holistic approach to addressing it.

Start Network’s vision is for a locally led humanitarian system, and we are supporting locally led hubs as a step towards making this happen. Our current hubs are in Guatemala, Pakistan, India, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and the Pacific region.