استخدمت منظمة Action Contre La Fam مدفوعات ARC لتوزيع الأموال والطعام في السنغال
استخدمت منظمة Action Contre La Fam مدفوعات ARC لتوزيع الأموال والطعام في السنغال © Action Against Hunger

نسخة ARC

ARC Replica هي شراكة مع African Risk Capacity والدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأفريقي تساعد البلدان الأفريقية على إدارة المخاطر المتعلقة بالمناخ بشكل استباقي من خلال التأمين ضد مخاطر الكوارث.

القدرة الأفريقية لمواجهة المخاطر (ARC) هي وكالة متخصصة تابعة للاتحاد الأفريقي تساعد الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأفريقي على إدارة المخاطر من خلال التأمين. يسمح برنامج ARC Replica أيضًا للمنظمات غير الحكومية مثل Start Network بالعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع الحكومات لإدارة هذه المخاطر.

هذه الطريقة الجديدة للتمويل مثالية للكوارث مثل الجفاف أو الأعاصير أو الفيضانات. من الممكن التنبؤ بهذه الأشهر مقدمًا ، لذلك يمكن توفير التمويل قبل حدوثها. وهذا يعني أن المساعدة الإنسانية تأتي بمجرد الحاجة إليها.

نحن نستخدم حاليًا ARC Replica في السنغال وزيمبابوي.

كيف يعمل

يمكن للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأفريقي شراء بوالص تأمين "حدودي" من ARC Ltd.

يمكن للشركاء غير الحكوميين مثل Start Network شراء نسخة بوليصة تأمين طبقًا لنفس الشروط والأحكام مثل الحكومة لزيادة تغطية السكان المعرضين للخطر.

دراسة حالة: ARC Replica في السنغال

كانت Start Network من أوائل الشركاء المعينين لمبادرة ARC Replica في عام 2018 ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع برنامج الأغذية العالمي. 

في يوليو 2019 ، اشترت Start Network وحكومة السنغال بوليصة تأمين ضد الجفاف. عندما انخفضت مستويات هطول الأمطار إلى ما دون عتبة محددة مسبقًا ، حصل كل منا على مدفوعات لتنفيذ إجراءات منسقة وفي الوقت المناسب لحماية المجتمعات المعرضة للخطر.

تم الوفاء بالمشغلات المتفق عليها مسبقًا في نوفمبر 2019 وتم دفع تعويضات بقيمة 12.5 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى حكومة السنغال. تم دفع 10.6 مليون دولار أمريكي أخرى لشبكة Start Network - وهي أكبر تخصيص تمويلي على الإطلاق للمجتمع المدني للعمل الإنساني المبكر.

Throughout 2020, six Start Network members worked alongside the government of Senegal to deliver assistance to Senegalese families ahead of a severe food insecurity situation caused by drought. They were: Action Against Hunger, Catholic Relief Services, Oxfam, Plan International, Save the Children and World Vision.

وزعت الوكالات الدقيق المخصب وأجرت تحويلات نقدية لأكثر من 335,000 ألف شخص في سبع مناطق. وقد مكن هذا الأسر من حماية الماشية والأصول القيمة الأخرى وتجنب اللجوء إلى استراتيجيات المواجهة السلبية ، مثل تخطي وجبات الطعام أو إرسال الأطفال إلى العمل بدلاً من المدرسة. أدى جائحة COVID-19 إلى تفاقم الوضع ، لذا ركزت الوكالات أيضًا على بث رسائل النظافة والصرف الصحي للمساعدة في التخفيف من انتشار الفيروس.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، استخدمت الحكومة السنغالية مدفوعاتها لدعم المناطق التي لا تغطيها برامج Start Network.

ممولينا وشركاؤنا

يتم تشغيل ARC Replica بالشراكة بين Start Network و African Risk Capacity (ARC) والدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأفريقي ، بما في ذلك حكومات السنغال وزيمبابوي والصومال ، وبرنامج الغذاء العالمي. 

يتم تمويله من قبل الوزارة الاتحادية الألمانية للتعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (BMZ) من خلال بنك التنمية الألماني ، Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) ووزارة الخارجية والتنمية والكومنولث في المملكة المتحدة.

آخر الأخبار

"التدخل المبكر من خلال التأمين يزيد بشكل كبير من عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكن مساعدتهم" - نيللي موندي ، ابدأ ...

موارد ذات الصلة

Action Contre La Fam used the ARC payout to distribute cash and food in Senegal
Action Contre La Fam used the ARC payout to distribute cash and food in Senegal © Action Against Hunger

ARC Replica

ARC Replica is a partnership with African Risk Capacity and African Union member states that helps African countries proactively manage climate-related risks through disaster risk insurance.

African Risk Capacity (ARC) is a specialised agency of the African Union which helps African Union member states manage risks through insurance. The ARC Replica programme also allows non-governmental organisations like Start Network to work side-by-side with governments to manage these risks.

This new way of funding is ideal for disasters such as drought, cyclones or floods. It is possible to predict these months in advance, so funding can be put in place before they happen. This means that humanitarian assistance comes as soon as it is needed.

We are currently using ARC Replica in Senegal and Zimbabwe.

How it works

African Union’s member states can purchase “parametric” insurance policies from ARC Ltd. This type of policy makes pre-specified payouts when pre-agreed scientific triggers are met.

Non-governmental partners like Start Network can then purchase a replica insurance policy under the same terms and conditions as the Government to increase coverage of the at-risk population.

Case study: ARC Replica in Senegal

Start Network was one of the first designated partners of the ARC Replica initiative in 2018, along with the World Food Programme. 

In July 2019, Start Network and the government of Senegal each purchased an insurance policy against drought. When rainfall levels dropped below a pre-defined threshold, we each received payouts to implement timely and coordinated action to protect communities at risk.

The pre-agreed triggers were met in November 2019 and a payout of US $12.5 million was made to the Government of Senegal. Another US $10.6 million was paid to Start Network – the largest-ever funding allocation to civil society for early humanitarian action.

Throughout 2020, six Start Network members worked alongside the government of Senegal to deliver assistance to Senegalese families ahead of a severe food insecurity situation caused by drought. They were: Action Against Hunger, Catholic Relief Services, Oxfam, Plan International, Save the Children and World Vision.

The agencies distributed enriched flour and made cash transfers to more than 335,000 people across seven regions. This enabled families to protect livestock and other valuable assets and avoid resorting to negative coping strategies, such as skipping meals or sending children to work instead of school. The COVID-19 pandemic made the situation worse so agencies also focused on broadcasting hygiene and sanitation messaging to help mitigate the spread of the virus.

Meanwhile, the Senegalese government used their payout to support regions not covered by Start Network programming.

Our funders and partners

ARC Replica is run in partnership between Start Network, African Risk Capacity (ARC), African Union member states, including the governments of Senegal, Zimbabwe and Somalia, and the World Food Programme. 

It is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) through the German Development Bank, Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) and the UK's Foreign, Development and Commonwealth Office.

Latest news

"Early intervention through insurance drastically increases the number of people who can be helped" - Nelly Maonde, Start…

Related resources